Contact us

We have 13 offices nationwide.

Our senior leadership team 

Fiona Kingsford

Fiona Kingsford

Chief Executive

027 448 8687

f.kingsford@competenz.org.nz

Nick Thomson

Nick Thomson

Acting General Manager Industry Training

021 536 194

n.thomson@competenz.org.nz

Sue Williams

Sue Williams

Acting General Manager Learning Design

027 560 7929

S.Williams@competenz.org.nz

Sandy Botterill

Sandy Botterill

General Manager Strategy & Transformation

027 535 3298

s.botterill@competenz.org.nz

Rachel Hopkins

Rachel Hopkins

General Manager Customer Experience

021 312 880

r.hopkins@competenz.org.nz

Kirsten Jones

Kirsten Jones

General Manager People & Culture

027 578 6109

k.jones@competenz.org.nz

Sean Kirk

Sean Kirk

General Manager Financial Services

021 556 848

s.kirk@competenz.org.nz

Toni Christie

Toni Christie

General Manager, ATNZ

027 491 4468

t.christie@competenz.org.nz

National & regional managers

Talk to us about signing up a new learner and any enquiries on our training programmes.

Sarah Whetter

Sarah Whetter

National Manager, Operations

027 544 7263

s.whetter@competenz.org.nz

Neil Lauagiagi

Neil Lauagiagi

National Manager, Apprenticeships Industry Training

N.Lauagiagi@competenz.org.nz

Kate Mooney

Kate Mooney

National Manager, Customer (Manufacturing & Forestry)

027 761 0750

k.mooney@competenz.org.nz

Lara Williams

Lara Williams

Regional Customer Manager, Northern (Manufacturing & Forestry)

027 446 9275

l.williams@competenz.org.nz

Adrian Lyne

Adrian Lyne

Acting Regional Apprentice Manager, Central

027 491 0871

A.Lyne@competenz.org.nz

Raoul Britow

Raoul Britow

Regional Apprentice Manager, Northern

027 449 9741

r.britow@competenz.org.nz

Amit Kumra

Amit Kumra

Regional Apprentice Manager, Waikato & Bay of Plenty

027 449 9107

a.kumra@competenz.org.nz

Steve Brooks

Steve Brooks

Regional Apprentice Manager, Southern

027 281 9828

s.brooks@competenz.org.nz

Greg Stuart

Greg Stuart

National Manager, ATNZ

027 550 1425

g.stuart@competenz.org.nz

Workforce development

Talk to us about supporting your wider workforce development needs. The Workforce Development team are experts in partnering with our customers to understand their needs and developing solutions to meet those needs.

Kirk Spinks

Kirk Spinks

National Manager, Workforce Development

027 643 8829

k.spinks@competenz.org.nz

Debs Wand

Debs Wand

Business Partner, Workforce Development

021 745 584

d.wand@competenz.org.nz

Lyndall Clarke

Lyndall Clarke

Business Partner, Workforce Development

027 533 8017

l.clarke@competenz.org.nz

Sector engagement

Talk to us about your sector. How is it changing? What are your immediate priorities for workforce development? What do we need to do to ensure we’re best supporting you?  The Sector Engagement team works with stakeholders from across our sectors to ensure Competenz is developing fit-for-purpose and relevant training solutions that support workforce development.   

Samantha McNaughton

Samantha McNaughton

National Manager, Sector Engagement

027-6461256

S.McNaughton@competenz.org.nz

Mark Preece

Mark Preece

Sector Manager

027 266 6621

m.preece@competenz.org.nz

Mathew Vandy

Mathew Vandy

Sector Manager

021 815 044

m.vandy@competenz.org.nz

Quality support

Talk to us about:

  • New assessor registrations 
  • Existing assessor scope extensions 
  • Consent to assess applications 
  • Forklift trainer registrations 
  • Forklift assessor registrations 
  • Moderation – pre and post 
  • Consistency reviews

We are responsible for ensuring our learners and the users of our unit standards are achieving consistent and quality outcomes.

Yvonne O'Callaghan

Yvonne O'Callaghan

Quality Support Manager

09 539 9809

y.o'callaghan@competenz.org.nz

Kristy Weir

Kristy Weir

Assessor Manager

09 539 9808

k.weir@competenz.org.nz

Julie McIlwraith

Julie McIlwraith

National Moderation Manager

027 244 7989

j.McIlwraith@competenz.org.nz

Sabrina Pereira

Sabrina Pereira

Quality Support Administrator

09 539 9804

S.Pereira@competenz.org.nz

Fiona Horne

Fiona Horne

National Moderation Manager, Providers

027 211 6650

F.Horne@competenz.org.nz

Grace Taylor

Grace Taylor

Quality Support Administrator (part-time)

G.Taylor@competenz.org.nz

Careers

Talk to us if you are thinking about a career in a trade, whether you are still at school, undertaking further study or already working.

Derek Tunui

Derek Tunui

National Manager, Career Development

027 578 6328

d.tunui@competenz.org.nz

Brian Lane

Brian Lane

Trades & Schools Advisor

027 243 7367

b.lane@competenz.org.nz

Kimberley Ward

Kimberley Ward

Trades & Schools Advisor

027 486 9994

k.ward@competenz.org.nz

Iani Nemani

Iani Nemani

Trades Careers Advisor - Pasifika

027 403 4542

i.nemani@competenz.org.nz

Reg Currin

Reg Currin

Trades Careers Advisor - Maori

027 474 4665

r.currin@competenz.org.nz