Reform of Vocational Education

What is RoVE?

RoVE is the Government’s plan to create a unified vocational education system to break down the barriers between on-the-job and off-the-job training. This unified and sustainable approach will be fit for the future of work and deliver the skills that learners, employers and communities require and directly relevant to the changing needs of the workplace. 

Six key changes

These six industry-governed bodies will give industry greater leadership across vocational education.

These will provide advice about the skills needs of their regions to the Tertiary Education Commission (TEC), workforce development councils, and local vocational education providers.

A unified, sustainable, public network of regionally accessible vocational education, bringing together the existing 16 ITPs.

CoVEs will bring together the Institute, other providers, workforce development councils, industry experts, and leading researchers to grow excellent vocational education provision and share high-quality curriculum and programme design across the system.

A group to help ensure that the Reform of Vocational Education reflects the Government’s commitment to Māori Crown partnerships.

A unified funding system will apply to all provider-based and work-integrated education at certificate and diploma qualification levels 3 to 7 (excluding degree study) and all industry training.

What does this mean for Competenz and our industries?

Competenz is now one of 11 ‘transitional’ industry training organisations (TITOs), which sees us operating and supporting our industries, employers and learners as normal.

Under the reform, our qualification standards setting functions will be transferred to four of six new entities, called Workforce Development Councils (WDCs). Most of these functions will go to the Manufacturing, Engineering and Logistics WDC, with forestry standards setting going into the Primary Industries WDC, laundry and drycleaning to the Services WDC, and journalism to the Creative, Cultural, Recreation and Technology WDC. This process should be completed during 2021.

Competenz also arranges, supports and assesses work based training. These activities will transition to a provider. In most cases this is likely to be Te Pūkenga – The New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology, another new entity. Transition plans on how this will happen are due to be submitted to the Tertiary Education Commission by the end of 2020. The Competenz transition of our ‘arranging training’ functions to a provider are also planned for completion in 2021.

We are committed to making these transitions as seamless as possible for our industries, employers, learners and employees.

Our CEO, Fiona Kingsford is an interim Establishment Board Member for the Manufacturing, Engineering and Logistics WDC, and is seconded to Te Pūkenga two days a week to advise the organisation on TITO transition planning.


Introducing Te Pūkenga

A new kind of organisation. Bringing together on-the-job, on campus, and online vocational education and training through a unified, sustainable network of regionally accessible provision.

Select a language

As New Zealand’s largest tertiary education provider, Te Pūkenga will ultimately have the national and regional reach to become a long-term skills training partner for firms and industries, enabling learners to move between workplaces and other educational offerings and locations as their needs change.

It will be a nationally recognised new way of learning that creates real value and real meaning for people – learning that’s more accessible and flexible.

Te Pūkenga

This unified system will deliver to the unique needs of all learners, including those who have been traditionally under-served, such as Māori, Pacific peoples, and disabled learners, particularly as Māori and Pacific peoples will form a growing part of the working-age population in the future.

Want to find out more?

If you have any questions about the RoVE programme, please email us or check out the Tertiary Education Commission’s website.